Faculty and Staff

Armando Abney

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Chair of the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Office: Charles Francis, Room 210
210-436-3011, Ext. 1245
aabney@stmarytx.edu

Elijah Akhahenda, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Internship Coordinator

Office: Treadway Hall 379
210-431-2263
eakhahenda@stmarytx.edu

Ana Alicea

Administrative Assistant for Theology
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 139
210-436-3310
aalicea@stmarytx.edu

Janet Armitage, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Sociology
Chair of the Sociology Department

Office: Charles Francis 205
210-436-3011, ext. 1279
jarmitage1@stmarytx.edu

James B. Ball, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Theology
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 152
210-431-2270
jball@stmarytx.edu

Brother Dennis R. Bautista, S.M., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English and Communication Studies
Adviser, The Rattler
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 364
210-436-3651
dbautista@stmarytx.edu

Diane Gonzales Bertrand

Visiting Lecturer of English and Communication Studies
Writer-In-Residence

Office: Chaminade Tower 412
210-431-2003
dbertrand@stmarytx.edu

Daniel W. Bjork, Ph.D.

Professor of History
Office: Chaminade Tower, Rm. 501
210-436-3704
dbjork@stmarytx.edu

Terri Boggess, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
Chair of Exercise and Sport Science
Office: Alumni Athletics & Convocation Center, Room 3100
210-436-3412
tboggess@stmarytx.edu

Andrew T. Brei, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 511
210-436-3005
abrei@stmarytx.edu

Eva Bueno, Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish, Portuguese and Multinational Organization Studies
Office: AT&T, Room 117
210-436-3231
ebueno@stmarytx.edu

William D. Buhrman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Theology
Chair of Theology Department

Associate Dean for Program Administration
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 140
210-431-2022
wbuhrman@stmarytx.edu

Stephen Calogero, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower 513
210-431-2023
scalogero@stmarytx.edu

Alan Cirlin, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Director of Speech Communications 

Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 373
210-431-2008
acirlin@stmarytx.edu

Jessica A. Cohen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 202
210-436-3011, Ext. 4400
jcohen8@stmarytx.edu

Francesca Mallory Coley, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer of English and Communications Studies
Office: Treadway Hall, Room 362
210-431-6777
fcoley@stmarytx.edu

Milo Colton, Ph.D., J.D.

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Program Coordinator of the Nelson Wolff Law Early Admission Program
Pre-Law Advisor
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 207
210-436-3519
mcolton@stmarytx.edu

Charles L. Cotrell, Ph.D.

President Emeritus
Professor of Political Science
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 322
210-431-2025
ccotrell@stmarytx.edu

Barry Crist, Ed.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Education
Teacher Education Certification Officer

Director of Student Teaching
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 305
210-436-3121
bcrist@stmarytx.edu

Peggy Curet, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Director of English and Communication Studies 

Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 403
210-431-2004
pcuret@stmarytx.edu

Rose Marie Cutting, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 413
210-431-2011
rcutting@stmarytx.edu

Bonita Dattner-Garza, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 401
210-436-3652
bdattnergarza@stmarytx.edu

Dion Denevan

Technical Director and Designer, Drama
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 10A
ddenevan@stmarytx.edu

Gwendolyn Diaz, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Graduate Director, English Literature and Language 

Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 406
210-431-2007
gdiaz@stmarytx.edu

Janet Dizinno, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Associate Professor of Psychology
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 002
210-436-3737
jdizinno@stmarytx.edu

Cyra Dumitru

Visiting Lecturer of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 417
210-431-5027
cdumitru@stmarytx.eduwww.riverlilypress.com

Henry Flores, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Research Professor, Political Science
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 325
hflores@stmarytx.edu

Rose Mary Gallegos

Administrative Assistant for Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 511
210-436-3586
rgallegos8@stmarytx.edu

Sonia Garcia, Ph.D.

Professor of Political Science
Coordinator, Women’s Studies
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 321
210-431-2014
sgarcia@stmarytx.edu

Steven Gerardi

Visiting Instructor of Exercise and Sport Science
Alumni Athletics & Convocation Center
210-436-3412
sgerardi@stmarytx.edu

Andrew W. Getz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Theology
Miller Professor of Catholic Medical and Biomedical Ethics
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 148
210-431-4348
agetz@stmarytx.edu

James Greenaway, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 510
Phone: 210-431-3011 Ext. 1621
jgreenaway@stmarytx.edu

Brother Fred Halwe, S.M.

Visiting Lecturer of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 415
210-431-6858
fhalwe@stmarytx.edu

Bernadette Hamilton-Brady, M.F.A.

Associate Professor of Drama
Director of Drama Department

Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 010B
210-431-2222
bbrady@stmarytx.edu

Katherine Hampsten, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 376
210-436-3311
khampsten@stmarytx.edu

Todd R. Hanneken, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Theology
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 151
210-431-8050
thanneken@stmarytx.edu

Rosalinda Helbig

Administrative Assistant for Languages
Office: AT&T, Room 111
210-436-3460
rhelbig@stmarytx.edu

Daniel Higgins, Ph.D.

Professor of Education
Chair of Teacher Education Department
Director of Educational Leadership Program
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 308
210-436-3121 Ext. 6856
dhiggins@stmarytx.edu

Heather Hill, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 355
210-431-6887
hhill1@stmarytx.edu

Mary Lynne Hill, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 416
210-431-2006
mhill@stmarytx.edu

Larry Hufford, Ph.D.

Professor of Political Science
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 328
210-431-6790
lhufford@stmarytx.edu

Glenn Hughes, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 517
210-436-3998
ghughes@stmarytx.edu

Bill Israel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Journalism 
Assistant Professor of  Political Communication
Director, Graduate Communication Studies
Office: Treadway Hall, Room 378
210-436-3650
bisrael@stmarytx.edu

Celine A. Jacquemin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science
Associate Dean, Student and Curricular Affairs
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 316
210-431-2013
cjacquemin1@stmarytx.edu

Evans Eden Jarnefeldt

Visiting Assistant Professor of Drama
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 10C
ejarnefeldt@stmarytx.edu

James Joffe

Visiting Assistant Professor of Art
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 229
210-431-5083
jjoffe@stmarytx.edu

Conrad Kaczkowski, S.M., Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 514
210-431-3114
ckaczkowski@stmarytx.edu

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 404
210-431-2010
akersnowski@stmarytx.edu

Grace Keyes, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 203
210-431-2280
gkeyes@stmarytx.edu

Lorelle D. Lamascus, Ph.D.

Assistant professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower 515
210-436-4214
llamascus@stmarytx.edu

Camille Langston, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 410
210-431-8082
clangston@stmarytx.edu

Ray Leal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 212
210-431-6850
rleal@stmarytx.edu

Bernard J. Lee, S.M., Th.D.

Professor of Theology
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 147
210-431-5081/210-433-9114
bleesm@stmarytx.edu

Mark Lokensgard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Portuguese, Spanish and Multinational Organization Studies, Chair of the Department of Languages
Office: AT&T, Room 112
210-436-3738
mlokensgard@stmarytx.edu

Daniel Long, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Music
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 293
210-436-3421 Ext. 4347
dlong@stmarytx.edu

Pedro Lopez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 209
210-431-6851
plopez@stmarytx.edu

Associate Professor of English and Communication Studies
Chair of English and Communication Studies

Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 409
210-431-2005
kmaloney@stmarytx.edu

Elizabeth-Jane McGuire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Theology
210-436-3229
emcguire1@stmarytx.edu

Steven McGuire, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Chaminade Tower 515
436-4214
smcguire@stmarytx.edu

Betty McClinton

Administrative Assistant for Teacher Education
Office: St. Louis Hall 301
210-436-3121
bmcclinton@stmarytx.edu

J. Colin McQuillan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 512
Phone: 210-436-3005
jmcquillan@stmarytx.edu

George T. Montague, S.M., S.Th.D.

Professor of Theology
Office: Charles Francis, Room 204
210-436-3310
gmontague@stmarytx.edu

Nathalie Morasch, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 507
210-436-5086
nmorasch@stmarytx.edu

Aaron Moreno, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 506
210-436-3313
amoreno28@stmarytx.edu

Megan Mustain, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Chair of Philosophy Department
Director, Core Curriculum
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 516
210-436-3073
mmustain@stmarytx.edu

Steve Nivin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 224
210-431-2058
snivin@stmarytx.edu

Erin O’Brien

Visiting Assistant Professor of Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 359
210-436-2002
eobrien@stmarytx.edu

Robert B. O’Connor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Theology
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 146
210-436-3799
roconnor@stmarytx.edu

Edith Ortega

Administrative Assistant for Music Department
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 2
210-436-3421
eortega@stmartytx.edu

Patricia R. Owen, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology
Chair of Psychology Department
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 341
210-431-2018
powen@stmarytx.edu

Wayne Owens, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 507
210-431-5086
wowens@stmarytx.edu

Leona Pallansch, Ph.D.

Associate Provost for Faculty, Assessment and Accreditation
Associate Professor of Political Science
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 320
210-436-3110 Ext. 3204
lpallansch@stmarytx.edu

Jillian Pierucci, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 359
210-431-2019
jpierucci@stmarytx.edu

Gregory Pool, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology
Graduate Program Director, Industrial Organizational Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 365
210-431-2020
gpool@stmarytx.edu

Gerald E. Poyo, Ph.D.

Professor of History
Chair of History Department

Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 504
210-436-3703
gpoyo@stmarytx.edu

Richard Pressman, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower 407
210-431-6787
rpressman@stmarytx.edu

John M. Rankin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Music
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 201
210-436-3421 Ext. 1386
jrankin@stmarytx.edu

Roy E. Robbins

Chair and Assistant Professor of Economics
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 222
210-31-6704
rrobbins@stmarytx.edu

Jenifer A. Robles

Administrative Assistant for Criminology, Sociology, Forensic Science

Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 212
210-436-3224
jrobles10@stmarytx.edu

Alicia Rodriguez

Administrative Assistant for Art, Drama, Economics, Exercise Sport Science and History
Office: Charles Francis Hall 226
210-431-5069
arodriguez153@stmarytx.edu

Mildred Rodriguez

Administrative Assistant for English and Communications Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower 402
210-436-3107
mrodriguez@stmarytx.edu

Mark Roltsch, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
Office: St. Louis Hall, Room 105-E
210-436-3720
mroltsch@stmarytx.edu

Bradley W. Root, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistance Professor of History
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 504
210-431-8081
broot@stmarytx.edu

Ito Romo, Ph.D.

Visiting Instructor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 408
210-431-4251
iromo@stmarytx.edu

Magdalena Salazar

Administrative Assistant for Political Science and International Relations
Office: St. Louis Hall 317
210-436-3110
msalazar5@stmartytx.edu

Melissa Scully

Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 414
210-431-2092
mscully@stmarytx.edu

Robert Boyd Skipper, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director, Ethics Bowl
Director, Center for Professional Ethics
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 508
210-431-6857
rskipper@stmarytx.edu

Rick Sperling, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 349
210-436-3723
rsperling@stmarytx.edu

Brian St. John

Chair and Associate Professor of Art
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 227
210-431-4232
bstjohn@stmarytx.edu

Brother Michael Sullivan, S.M.

Assistant Professor of Music
Chair of Music Department
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 203
210-431-6796
msullivan@stmarytx.edu

Teresa Van Hoy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 504
210-436-3608
tvanhoy@stmarytx.edu

Alejandro Velez, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 214
210-436-3142
avelez@stmarytx.edu

Emmett Vokes

Visiting Assistance Professor of Applied Music
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 206
210-436-3421 Ext. 1504
rvokes@stmarytx.edu

Delia L. von Muldau

Coordinator
Office: Charles Francis Hall, Room 002
210-436-3737
dvonmuldau@stmarytx.edu

Kevin Welch

Assistant Professor of English and Communication Studies
Office: Treadaway Hall, Room 377
210-436-3655
kwelch@stmarytx.edu

Cassandra Wentz

Administrative Assistant for Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower 3rd Floor
210-436-3314
cwentz@stmarytx.edu

Jennifer Zwahr-Castro, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology
Office: Chaminade Tower, Room 432
210-431-4238
jzwahrcastro@stmarytx.edu