San Antonio – St. Mary’s University softball players Malissa Magee and Kelcy Walker were honored by the National Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association (NFCA) as second team NCAA Division II All-Americans, it was announced by the organization this past weekend.

Magee (Jr., Houston) was named All-American for the second time in three seasons with the Rattlers. Magee had a 30-10 overall record with a 0.75 ERA, 30 complete games and 15 shutouts. She threw 260.0 innings, allowing just 28 earned runs on 143 hits and 43 walks, while striking out 295. She was named Heartland Conference Tournament MVP and was HC Pitcher of the Week five times this season. She tossed two no-hitters this season and six one-hitters. She tossed a two-hit complete-game shutout in the Heartland Conference Tournament Championship against St. Edward’s. She was a first team all-region selection by both the NFCA and Daktronics and was named South Central Region Pitcher of the Year by Daktronics. She was a first team All-Heartland Conference honoree and became the first player to earn HC Pitcher of the Year honors three times.

Walker (Jr., San Antonio) earned second team honors at catcher for the first time. She was the leading hitter on the squad with a .384 batting average, 15 doubles, three triples, 10 homeruns, 49 RBI and 51 runs scored. She was named Heartland Conference Hitter of the Week twice this season. She was a first team all-region selection by both Daktronics and the NFCA. She was also a first team All-Heartland Conference selection this season.

The two All-American selections for this season give the Rattlers 37 in their 27-year history of softball. The Rattlers now have 13 NCAA Division II All-American selections and have had at least two All-Americans five of the last six years.

St. Mary’s finished the 2007 season with a 45-18 overall record and finished second in the NCAA Division South Central Region Tournament. The Rattlers won the Heartland Conference Tournament for the seventh straight season. They return eight of nine starters for the 2008 season.

Back to top