San Antonio – St. Mary’s University Head Coach Charlie Migl was named Heartland Conference Coach of the Year, while Alfonso Maldonado, Ryan Morrow, James Hipp and Josh McElroy earned first team all-conference honors on the 2010 All-Heartland Conference Baseball Team.

Migl, in his 24th season as the Rattlers mentor, was honored for the fourth time by the league. Migl guided the Rattlers to 39-17 mark this season and the regular season Heartland Conference Championship. He has led the Rattlers to 35 or more wins in each of the last five seasons and in his 24 years as head coach, the Rattlers have had a winning record 23 times. Migl has a career record of 878-411 and led the Rattlers to the 2001 NCAA Division II National Championship.

Maldonado (Sr., Laredo, Texas) was the Rattlers top starting pitcher, going 8-5 with a 2.70 ERA, 10 complete games and 2 shutouts in 96.2 innings of work. Opposing batters hit just .224 against him this season. He has 10 complete games in 15 starts this season. In his five losses, the Rattlers have scored just three runs. He was named Heartland Conference Pitcher of the Week once this season. The All-Heartland Conference honor was his first as a Rattler.

Morrow (Jr., Bulverde, Texas) has developed into one of the top hitters in the Heartland Conference, while still remaining one of the top defensive backstops in the league. Morrow hit .375 with 11 doubles, 14 homeruns, 64 RBI and 53 runs scored. Defensively he had a .981 fielding percentage and threw out 19 of 41 potential base stealers. Morrow was named Heartland Conference Hitter of the Week once this season. The honor marked the second straight season that Morrow has been named first team All-Heartland Conference.

Hipp (Sr., Uvalde, Texas) led the Rattlers with a .392 batting average, 11 doubles, 4 homeruns, 40 RBI and 65 runs scored. He earned Heartland Conference Hitter of the Week once this season. McElroy (So., San Antonio) took over in leftfield this season and was one of the top hitters in the league, batting .383 with 17 doubles, 4 homeruns, 50 RBI and 62 runs scored. He was also 25-of-28 in stolen base attempts this season.

Earning second team All-Heartland Conference recognition was: Courtney Behrend (Sr., Comfort, Texas, Pitcher), Weston Baros (Jr., San Antonio, Second Base), Reagan Moczygemba (Jr., Bulverde, Texas, Shortstop), Jason Garcia (Jr., Falfurrias, Texas, Outfield) and Greg Herbst (Jr., San Antonio, Designated Hitter). The honor was the first for all of the recipients, except for Moczygemba, who was a 2009 recipient as well.

In addition to the All-Conference team, the Heartland Conference announced a Gold Glove Team for the first time in 2010. Three Rattlers earned Gold Glove honors: Matt Holland (Jr., Shreveport, La.), Morrow and Garcia. Holland was 10-3 this season with a 4.21 ERA in 92.0 innings of work. He had a perfect fielding percentage this season, with 21 assists and 5 putouts. Morrow had a .981 fielding percentage, committing just 7 errors in 374 chances. Garcia was nearly perfect in right field for the Rattlers, committing one error in 92 chances.

The Rattlers will open play at the NCAA South Central Region Tournament at 2:30 p.m. today against seventh-ranked Abilene Christian University in Warrensburg, Mo.

Back to top