Beginning on Thursday, St. Mary’s University School of Law is hosting the 2009 Lone Star Classic, an annual invitational mock trial tournament open to ABA-accredited law schools nationwide held at the St. Mary’s Courtroom and the Bexar Country Courthouse.

The field consists of 16 teams from the following schools: Baylor University Law School; Brooklyn Law School; Campbell University Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law; The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law; Faulkner University Thomas Goode Jones School of Law; Fordham University School of Law; Florida State University College of Law; University of Houston Law Center; Louisiana State University Law Center; Michigan State University College of Law; Pace University Law School; Samford University Cumberland School of Law; Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law; South Texas College of Law; Texas Wesleyan University School of Law and Villanova University School of Law.

The three preliminary rounds will take place on Thursday and Friday at the Bexar County Courthouse. Teams will break to semi-final rounds on Saturday morning. The final round, Saturday at 2 p.m. in the law school’s courtroom, is open to the public. Judges for the final round are The Hon. Edward Prado, U. S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; Henry Bemporad, Federal Public Defender; and John Murphy, Acting United States Attorney.

The law school’s Board of Advocates will assist with many of the logistical challenges of the event, such as securing approximately 90 local lawyers to judge the preliminary and semi-final rounds and 50 students to serve as either bailiffs or marshals for each round.

Back to top