Student Newspaper Brings Home 18 Awards

April 28, 2015

Rattler staff members holding their hard-earned awards

The Rattler newspaper won 18 awards at the 2015 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention, held at the El Tropicano Hotel in San Antonio. The Rattler again took first for overall excellence in its division. The event included an estimated 500 participants from almost 50 colleges and universities across the state. This is the one of many awards the school newspaper has received under the direction of Brother Dennis R. Bautista, S.M., Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Communications and Adviser for The Rattler student newspaper.

This is an exciting time for The Rattler staff.

“The Rattler has refined my University experience in many ways: it has taught me leadership, prudence, hard work, dedication, service and among these virtues, countless practical skills,” said Alex Eakins.

Eakins is the editor-in-chief of The Rattler and will be graduating this spring. He recently passed the torch to Daniel Perez, incoming managing editor, and Tamara Garcia, incoming editor-in-chief, who were responsible for running the April 24 press weekend.

Below is a full list of awards received at the 2015 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention.

1st Place

Valeria Perez
On-site Contest
Print Advertising

Kyra Littlejohn
On-site Contest
Public Relations Crisis Management

Rachel Grahmann
Single Subject Presentation Design
Walking Softly

Daniel Perez
Information Graphic
The least and most desired majors

Bridget Hennessy
Feature Photo
Shave to Save

Manuela Gonzalez & Brandon Leonard
Illustration (non-photo)

Manuela Gonzalez
Editorial Cartoon

2nd Place

Sara Flores
Sports Page Design
Issue 10, 10-28-2014 (back cover)

3rd Place

Alex Eakins
News Feature Story
American Indian powwow

Sara Flores
Sports Page Design
Issue 9, 10-08-2014 (back cover)

Manuela Gonzalez & Brandon Leonard
Illustration (non-photo)
Connection issues


Alondra Garcia
On-site Contest
Magazine Design

Alex Eakins
On-site Contest
Headline Writing

Tamara Garcia
On-site Contest
PR Release Writing

Sarah Palomares
In-depth Reporting
Tradaway Hall outdoor pool

Sara E. Flores
Sports Action Photo
Rattler Madness

Danielle Vargas
Sports Feature Photo
Athletic Communications Department

Back to top