St. Mary’s University School of Law is scheduled to host the 2010 Lone Star Classic®, an annual national invitational mock trial tournament, October 14 -16.

This year, sixteen law schools from across the nation will participate in St. Mary’s tournament: Baylor University Law School; University at Buffalo Law School; Campbell University’s Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law; Catholic University School of Law; University of Denver College of Law; Faulkner University’s Jones School of Law; Florida State University College of Law; Fordham University School of Law; University of Houston Law Center; Louisiana State University Law Center; Michigan State University College of Law; South Texas College of Law; Stetson University College of Law; Texas Tech University School of Law; Texas Wesleyan University School of Law; and Villanova University School of Law.

“This competition is a wonderful opportunity for students to personally observe excellent advocates from other schools and puts a spotlight on the school’s strong reputation for its advocacy teams and curriculum,” said David Schlueter, Hardy Professor of Law and St. Mary’s director of Advocacy Programs.

The preliminary rounds will be held on Thursday and Friday at the Bexar County Courthouse.  The semi-final rounds will be held at St. Mary’s Law Classroom Building on Oct. 16 at 9 a.m. followed by the final round at 2p.m. in St. Mary’s high-tech courtroom. The final round will be webcast live.

Final round judges will be Judge Patrick Higginbotham, a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, John E. Murphy, Acting United States Attorney, and Henry J. Bemporad, Federal Public Defender.

Back to top