HORSESHOE BAY – Jeff Reim fired an opening round 66 to take on a one-stroke lead individually and helped St. Mary’s University to a second place team standing after the first round of the Heartland Conference Men’s Golf Championships, held on Monday at the Slick Rock Golf Course.

Reim (So., San Antonio) shot a six-under par 66 to take a one-stroke lead over Matthew Hatcher of St. Edward’s University. Collin Mayer (68) and Matt Smith (69) of St. Edward’s are third and fourth, respectively. 2008 Heartland Conference player of the Year, Matt Vela (So., San Antonio) is eighth with an opening round 71. Preston Akromis (Sr., San Antonio) is 16th with a 73.

In the team standings St. Edward’s University leads with a 277, followed by the Rattlers with a 287. Dallas Baptist is third with a 288, Newman is fourth with a 289, Lincoln is fifth with 294, the University of the Incarnate Word is sixth with a 302, Oklahoma Panhandle State University is seventh with a 307 and Texas A&M-International University is eighth with a 329.

The second round of the tournament will wrap up first Tuesday morning, with the third and final round to follow.

Team Standings: 1. St. Edward’s 277, 2. St. Mary’s 287, 3. Dallas Baptist 288, 4. Newman 289, 5. Lincoln 294, 6. Incarnate Word 302, 7. Oklahoma Panhandle State 307, Texas A&M-International 329.

Individual Leaders: 1. Jeff Rein (STMU) 66, 2. Matthew Hatcher (SEU) 67, 3. Collin Mayer (SEU), 68, 4. Matt Smith (SEU) 69, 5. Noah Smithson (NU) 70, Aaron Murphy (LU) 70, Nic Tacher (DBU) 70.

Other St. Mary’s Individuals: 8. Matt Vela 71, 16. Preston Akromis 73, 27. Alex Maurer 77, 29. Sam Jernigan 79.

Back to top