The St. Mary’s Alumni Association will recognize eight faculty members during its annual Faculty Appreciation Dinner on Friday, Jan. 27, at the San Antonio Marriott Northwest.

The Distinguished Faculty Award was established in 1984 to recognize outstanding faculty in each school.

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

StMU Faculty Jillian Pierucci
Jillian Pierucci, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology
StMU Faculty Colin McQuillan
Colin McQuillan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy

School of Science, Engineering and Technology

StMU Faculty Jason Shaw
Jason Shaw, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Greehey School of Business

StMU Faculty Margaret Langford
Margaret Langford, Ph.D.
Professor of Management

Graduate Studies in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences

StMU Faculty Carolyn Tubbs
Carolyn Tubbs, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marriage and Family Therapy

School of Law

Genevieve Hebert Fajardo, J.D.
Genevieve Hebert Fajardo, J.D.
Clinical Professor of Law

“This is a special night to celebrate our faculty and their devotion to generations of students,” said Aaron Tyler, Ph.D., Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “These educators, nominated by their deans, admirably demonstrate each of the characteristics of Marianist education. It is a tremendous privilege to work alongside them at St. Mary’s.”

Junior Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research

Meghann Peace smiling
Meghann Peace, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish

Senior Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research

Ahmad Galaleldeen, Ph.D.
Ahmad Galaleldeen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

The Early Faculty Award celebrates full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty members who are making a significant impact in their field by supporting and mentoring undergraduate students in research and scholarship endeavors. Applicants must have demonstrated mentorship involvement for at least three years at St. Mary’s.

The Senior Faculty Award is a career award for individuals whose efforts in undergraduate mentoring have been exceptional during their career at St. Mary’s. This award is open to tenured full professors and associate professors who have made a lasting commitment to undergraduate research within their respective departments, and have served at St. Mary’s for at least eight years.

Faculty Conference Fund Recipients

  • Katherine Hampsten, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Communication Studies
  • Todd Hanneken, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Theology
  • Amanda Kennedy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English and Communication Studies
  • Evelynn Mitchell, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Environmental Science
  • Feng Zhang, Ph.D., Associate Professor of International Business

“We thank the St. Mary’s University Alumni Association for their steadfast commitment to our great students and faculty,” Tyler said.

Back to top