The St. Mary’s University Alumni Association recognized the following faculty members during its annual Faculty Appreciation & Awards Dinner on Friday, Jan. 23, at Oak Hills Country Club.

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

William D. Buhrman, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Theology
James Greenaway, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Philosophy

School of Science, Engineering and Technology

Christine E. Gray, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Greehey School of Business

K. Matthew Gilley, Ph.D., Professor of Management

School of Law

Colin P. Marks, J.D., Professor of Law

Graduate Studies

Larry Hufford, Ph.D., Full Professor of Political Science

Also announced at the dinner:

Early Career Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research

Melissa Karlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Environmental Science

Senior Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research

S. Colette Daubner, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Sciences

The Early Faculty Award celebrates the mentoring efforts of junior faculty. This award is available to full-time tenured or tenure track faculty members who are making a significant impact in their field by supporting and mentoring undergraduate students in research and scholarship endeavors. Applicants must have demonstrated mentoring involvement for at least three years at St. Mary’s.

The Senior Faculty Award is a career award for individuals whose efforts in undergraduate mentorship have been exceptional during their career at St. Mary’s. This award is open to tenured full professors and associate professors who have made a lasting commitment to undergraduate research within their respective departments, and have served at St. Mary’s for at least eight years.

The Alumni Association also honored Gateway Million+ Club Award winners:

  • Richard Cardenas , Ph.D.
  • Jacqueline Dansby, Ph.D.
  • Ana Novoa, J.D.
  • Gary Ogden, Ph.D.
  • Timothy Raabe, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Zwahr-Castro, Ph.D.

Faculty Conference Fund Recipients received recognition as well:

  • Janet Armitage, Ph.D.
  • K. Matthew Gilley, Ph.D.
  • Jillian Pierucci, Ph.D.
  • Carol Luckhardt Redfield, Ph.D.
  • Refugio “Ito” Romo, Ph.D.
Back to top