University has more scholarship winners than any other Texas school

The Texas Business Hall of Fame has awarded four of its annual scholarships to St. Mary’s University students – more than any other institution in Texas this year.

The recipients are Angela Rizzo, senior Corporate Financial Management major, who was awarded the William E. “Bill” Greehey Scholarship; Benjamin Hinojosa, MBA student, who was awarded the Carlos and Malu Alvarez Scholarship; Christopher Costley, MBA student, who was awarded the Harvey E. Najim Scholarship; and Kimberly Kennedy, MBA student.

These $10,000 scholarships are awarded to outstanding graduate and undergraduate business students who exhibit entrepreneurial drive and leadership spirit.

A total of 31 scholarships were awarded to students from schools including Baylor, Texas Tech, TCU, UT-Austin and Rice. The students were lauded Nov. 5 at a scholarship luncheon in Dallas.

“We are extremely proud of our scholarship winners, and their success proves that the Greehey MBA program – and the Bill Greehey School of Business as a whole – is indeed producing values-driven leaders,” Dean Tanuja Singh said.

Since it was established in 1982, the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation’s mission has been “to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding Texas business leaders and to perpetuate and inspire entrepreneurial spirit, personal integrity and community leadership.” It has enshrined more than 150 business leaders and has awarded more than $3 million in scholarships to the state’s top business students.

Last year, St. Mary’s had one TBHF scholarship winner, Meghan Garza-Oswald, a student from the first cohort of the Greehey MBA program.

Back to top