San Antonio – St. Mary’s second baseman Shelly Lee and third baseman Chelsea Wenske were two of 11 players that were named to the 7th Annual St. Mary’s College Softball Classic All-Tournament Team.

Lee (So., San Antonio), filling in at second base for injured senior Alyssa Alfaro, batted .500 with four RBIs, including driving in the winning run in the bottom of the eighth inning to beat Abilene Christian. She also scored one run in five games played.

Wenske (Sr., Shiner, Texas) batted .438 with five RBIs and four runs scored, providing a consistent threat in St. Mary’s lineup throughout the tournament.

Led by tournament Most Valuable Player DeeShanaLynn Tafiti, Angelo State won the tournament championship with a 5-0 record. Tafiti, a junior third baseman from Kalaheo, Hawaii, batted .333 with three home runs, six RBIs and six runs scored. Her three-run blast against Abilene Christian helped the Rambelles overcome an 11-6 deficit entering the sixth inning of their final game in the tournament.

The full All-Tournament Team is as follows:

P: Mary Kate McKay, Angelo State
P: Briana Sanchez, Incarnate Word
INF: Shelly Lee, St. Mary’s
INF: Valentina Nabayna, Abilene Christian
INF: DeeShanaLynn Tafiti, Angelo State
INF: Chelsea Wenske, St. Mary’s
OF: Leslie Martini, Cameron
OF: Lyndi Smith, Abilene Christian
OF: Amanda Willhelm, Angelo State
C: Kacie Easley, Angelo State
DP: Clarissa Salinas, Texas A&M International

Back to top