The 77th annual St. Mary’s University School of Law commencement ceremony celebrated the educational achievements of 249 new graduates on May 14, 2011.

The event speaker was Ricardo G. Cedillo, who received his bachelor’s of arts from St. Mary’s in 1974, but went on to the Harvard School of Law. During the ceremony, Cedillo was presented a Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, for his outstanding professional achievements and recognitions, as well as his support to the School of Law.

Additionally, three were honored at the ceremony with the school’s annual awards, including Ronald J. Herrmann (B.A. ’57, J.D. ’59), who received the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award. Herrmann, chair of various family-owned businesses including manufacturing, retail, restaurant and real estate investments, is a former member of the University’s Board of Trustees and a 2007 Distinguished Alumni. He is a longtime supporter of St. Mary’s University and the School of Law, and has an extensive record of philanthropy and service to the community.

The Hon. Xavier Rodriguez, United States District Court in the Western District of Texas, was presented the 2011 Rosewood Gavel Award, which is given to an outstanding judge or justice in recognition of contributions to constitutional democracy.

The Hon. Patrick E. Higgenbotham, United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, was presented the St. Thomas More Award, which recognizes exceptional contributions to legal education, the legal profession or government.

Back to top