HORSESHOE BAY – Jeff Rein fired a two-under par 70 to take medalist honors and helped St. Mary’s University overcome a 12-stroke deficit after the first round and win the Heartland Conference men’s golf championship by six strokes at the Slick Rock Golf Club Tuesday.
Rein (So., San Antonio) became the sixth Rattler to win the Heartland Conference Tournament Championship with a three-round total of 204. He finished the tournament with a two-under par 70 in the final round after opening the tournament with rounds of 66 and 68. The tournament victory was his first as a Rattler in his first season on the team.

Matt Vela (So., San Antonio) finished as the runner-up in the Heartland Conference for the second straight year with a three-round total of 206 (71-67-68). Vela finished the tournament off by chipping in from off the green from 15 feet away to seal the win for the Rattlers. Preston Akromis (Sr., San Antonio) shot a final round 69 to place eight. Alex Maurer (Sr., St. Louis, Mo.) made it four Rattlers in the top 10 overall by firing a three-round total of 216, including a final round 68. Sam Jernigan (Fr., San Antonio) had a memorable first Heartland Conference Tournament, shooting back-to-back 71s to finish the tournament.

As a team the Rattlers shot a 275 in the final round after a 276 in the second round, the two lowest totals for the Rattlers at the Heartland Conference Tournament to finish with an 838. St. Edward’s University led by 10 strokes after the first round and finished with an 844, good for second place. Newman University and Dallas Baptist tied for third place with 866s, Lincoln University was fifth with an 885, the University of the Incarnate Word was sixth with an 894, Oklahoma Panhandle State University was seventh with a 936 and Texas A&M-International University was eighth with a 943.

The Rattlers will return to action on May 4-6 at the NCAA South Central Region, which will be played in Allendale, Mich.

Heartland Conference Championships
Slick Rock Golf Club
Team Standings:
1. St. Mary’s 838, 2. St. Edward’s 844, 3. Newman 866, Dallas Baptist 866, 5. Lincoln 885, 6. Incarnate Word 894, 7. Oklahoma Panhandle State 936, 8. Texas A&M-International 943.
Individual Standings: 1. Jeff Rein (STMU) 204, 2. Matt Vela (STMU) 206, 3. Seth Stuart (DBU) 208, Andrew Workman (SEU) 208, 5. Aaron Murphy (LU) 209.
Other St. Mary’s Individuals: 8. Preston Akromis 212, t10. Alex Maurer 216, 19. Sam Jernigan 221.

Back to top