The 2009 Alice Wright Franzke Feminist Award recipients were honored last month during a special luncheon. This year’s recipients are:

  • Monica Cruz, McNair Scholars Program (staff)
  • Misha McDonald, International Relations (student)
  • Leona Pallansch, Ph.D., Department of Political Science (faculty)
  • Mildred Rodriguez, Department of English and Communication Studies (staff)

The Alice Wright Franzke Feminist Award was established by the St. Mary’s Women’s Caucus in March 1990 to commemorate the life and works of Alice Franzke, Ph.D., a professor in the Sociology Department at St. Mary’s University from 1982 until 1989. Dr. Franzke was an inspirational model of feminist activism and civic engagement who embodied a commitment to justice and peace. The award honors feminists of St. Mary’s community who promote peace, empowerment, civic engagement, cooperation, equality, and respect of all persons.

Back to top