San Antonio – Malissa Magee and Taryn Munoz tossed complete game shutouts and the Rattler offense exploded for 16 runs as 9th-ranked St. Mary’s University Rattlers swept two games and won the tournament title at the St. Mary’s NCAA Division II College Classic Softball Tournament, played Sunday at the San Antonio Independent School District Spring Sports Complex.

In the opener, Munoz (So., Bulverde) scattered four hits and one walk over five innings, while striking out two to even her record at 1-1 on the season. The Rattler offense made sure that her strong pitching would be rewarded. St. Mary’s struck for nine runs in the first inning and added three more in the third inning in the five-inning run-rule game. The Rattlers scored their nine first-inning runs on just five hits, but took advantage of five walks and two errors to break the game open early. Chelsea Wenske (Fr., Yoakum) put the finishing touches on the win in the third inning when she smacked her first collegiate homerun to leftfield.

The second game of the day for the Rattlers was the highly anticipated matchup with preseason 17th-ranked Midwestern State. Magee (Sr., Katy) improved to 3-0 on the season, allowing just three hits, while striking out seven in the complete game shutout. Sade Moore (Jr., Angleton) led the offense with three hits and two runs driven in. She got things started in the first inning with a single up the middle. Mary K Pederson (Sr., Houston) reached on a fielder’s choice, with Moore advancing to second. After Moore advanced to third on a fly out, the Rattlers pulled off the double-steal, with Moore scoring easily for the first run of the game.

In the next inning the Rattlers increased their advantage. With Lauren Miller (Fr., San Antonio) on base Nikki Flores (Jr., Friendswood) reached on an error, allowing Miller to score. Sarah Cooper (Sr., Houston) followed with a double down the rightfield line, moving Cooper to third. Moore followed with a single through the left side of the infield, scoring Flores to make it a 3-0 game. The Rattlers finished the scoring in the fourth when Moore singled home Jenna Saucedo (Jr., Bulverde). After picking up hits in the each of the first three innings, the Mustangs were held without a hit the rest of the game. Magee retired the last 13 batters of the game.

The wins moved the Rattlers into a tie for the tournament title with a 4-1 record. Abilene Christian, Southeastern Oklahoma State and St. Edward’s University also finished with 4-1 marks, but the Rattlers won the title due to a run differential of plus-16. Magee, Moore and Lindsay Barnes (Sr., San Antonio) all were named to the all-tournament team.

With the wins the Rattlers are now 4-1 overall. They will return to action on Tuesday when they travel to Stephenville to face Tarleton State University in a doubleheader starting at 1 p.m.

Tournament MVP: Majorie Johnson, P, Southeastern Oklahoma State
All-Tournament Team:
P – Malissa Magee, St. Mary’s

P – Robin Becker, St. Edward’s
C – Ashley Hinojosa, Incarnate Word
1B – Lindsay Barnes, St. Mary’s
2B – Nicole Cone, Tarleton State
SS – Megan Young, Cameron
3B – Kristin Stonecipher, Midwestern State
OF – Rachel Lynn, Southeastern Oklahoma State
OF – Sade Moore, St. Mary’s
OF – Tiffany Boone, Texas Woman’s
OF – Meagan Campbell, Central Oklahoma
DP – Bailey Mathes, Southeastern Oklahoma State
UT – Kelli Gayle, Tarleton State
UT – Leisha Johnson, Abilene Christian

Back to top