Each year in January, the University community observes its Marianist heritage through a week of activities that includes presentations, a day of service, a Eucharistic Celebration on the Feast Day of the Blessed William Joseph Chaminade, and an awards ceremony where those faculty, staff and students who best exemplify the Marianist charism in their lives are recognized.

This year’s Marianist Heritage Award recipients were Steven Neiheisel, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science, and Patricia J. Helton – fondly referred to as “The Plant Lady” – Grounds Crew Leader in the Physical Plant Department.

Students recognized with the Marianist Student Leadership Award included Sarah Ingram, a senior international business major from Alvin, Rachel Kellar, a senior biochemistry major from Dallas, and Andria Brannon, a third-year law student from Vernon.

Daniel McCarthy, a junior from Haslet, Annie Alejos, a senior from Kenedy, and Kelly Ochoa, a senior from Yorktown, were awarded the Carl Fitzgerald Award during the ceremony. The scholarship is named in memory of former student Carl Fitzgerald who died in 1983.

Back to top