St. Mary’s University celebrated student achievement both inside and outside of the classroom at the annual Distinguished Leaders Night on April 18.

Each spring, this event honors students who live the Marianist ideals, contribute to the educational mission of the university and extend themselves to the community through their academic and co-curricular involvement.

Fourteen students were recognized with the 2007 Presidential Award for their success in academics, service, and leadership.

This year’s honorees were: Christopher X. Cantu, an exercise and sports science student from Victoria; Nicolas J. Frech, an economics student from Managua, Nicaragua; Migdalia Garcia, an international relations graduate student from El Paso; Protasahana Hamal, an accounting student from Jawalakhel, Lalitpur Nepal; Matthew C. Jones, an international relations student from San Antonio; Samantha A. Karam, an entrepreneurial studies student from San Antonio; Robert P. Manuel, a philosophy student from San Antonio; Tessa M. Pinon, a physics student from El Paso; Sara M. Reinhard, a biology student from San Antonio; Jessica M. Rodriguez, an English/communication arts student from San Antonio; Ashley L. Shaw, a physics/ psychology student from San Antonio; Nicholas A. Sisoian, a law student from San Antonio; Henry Van de Putte III, a political science student from San Antonio; and Rebecca J. Viagran, a graduate student in public administration from San Antonio.

Back to top