MONTGOMERY, Ala. (May 24) — Delta State outfielder Jud Thigpen and Texas A&M-Kingsville pitcher Garrett Murdy are the top players on the 2004 Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association’s All-America teams.

Thigpen is the Rawlings/ABCA position player of the year and player of the year. A senior, Thigpen entered the Division II baseball championship with a .438 batting average, hitting 14 home runs with 77 RBI. Thigpen added 19 doubles, 19 stolen bases and a .708 slugging percentage. Thigpen and the second-ranked Statesmen won their first-round game at the 2004 NCAA Division II baseball championship Sunday, defeating No. 1 Central Missouri State, 6-5, in 10 innings.

Murdy is the Rawlings/ABCA pitcher of the year. A junior, Murdy was 14-1 with a 1.88 ERA. He struck out 158 and walked by 37 in 115 innings, allowing 96 hits. He won his last six decisions, including two in helping the Javelinas to the Lone Star Conference championship. Murdy was the Lone Star South Division’s Pitcher of the Year.

The committee chose three teams, with 16 players on each team. Also honored are:

1B: Tim Richt, Wayne State (Neb.), Sr.
2B: Kevin Sewell, Quincy, Sr.
3B: Matt Levering, Regis, Sr.
SS: Robert Morgan, Valdosta State, Jr.
INF: Joe Dimberger, Mesa State, Sr.
C: Eric Cavers, Franklin Pierce, Jr.
OF: Jud Thigpen, Delta State, Sr.
OF: Larry Pittmon, Columbus State, Sr.
OF: Francisco Leandro, Central Missouri State, Jr.
OF: Tony Wittmus, Colorado-State Pueblo, Sr.
DH: Chris Reed, Delta State, Sr.
P: Evan Englebrook, Shippensburg, Sr.
P: Garrett Murdy, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Jr.
P: Steve Sharpe, Central Missouri State, Jr.
P: Steve Sloan, Bryant, Jr.
RP: Brian Baker, Columbus State, Jr.

1B: Tom Everidge, Sonoma State, Jr.
2B: Matt Baker, Catawba, Jr.
3B: Mark Broome, Delta State, Sr.
SS: David Young, Wingate, Sr.
INF: Dennis Blackmon, Barton, Jr.
C: Charlie Drummond, Shepherd, Sr.
OF: Kevin White, Presbyterian, Sr.
OF: Brandon Cornell, Ashland, Jr.
OF: Todd Morben, Regis, Sr.
OF: Chad Stecker, Shippensburg, Jr.
DH: Steve Parrish, Mount Olive, Jr.
P: Travis Stanton, North Florida, Jr.
P: Steve Edsall, Rollins, Sr.
P: Shawn Martinez, Colorado State-Pueblo, Sr.
P: Matt Rafeld, Grand Valley State, Sr.
RP: Nick Burger, Chico State, Jr.

1B: Bobby Beeson, Southern Arkansas, Jr.
2B: Brandon Burgess, Sonoma State, Jr.
3B: Jeff Robbins, Pfeiffer, Sr.
SS: Jeremiah Piepkorn, North Dakota State, Sr.
INF: Toby Rice, Rollins, Sr.
C: Danny Cummins, Colorado State-Pueblo, Jr.
OF: Aharon Eggleston, Southern Arkansas, Jr.
OF: Mickey Ryan, Bryant, Jr.
OF: Deacon Burns, Northern State, Jr.
OF: Jeff Bieker, Fort Hays State, So.
DH: Jason Crawford, Mesa State, Sr.
P: Derrick Moeves, Northern Kentucky, So.
P: J.J. Scheving, North Dakota, Sr.
P: Jeff Wigdahl, St. Mary’s, Sr.
P: Randy Dicken, Shippensburg, Jr.
RP: Justin Boza, Tampa, Jr.

Back to top