Pamela S. De Roche, administrative assistant to the vice president for administration and finance at St. Mary’s University, and Ana M. Novoa, J.D., law professor at St. Mary’s School of Law, are the recipients of the 2004 Marianist Heritage Award.

Presented annually since 1981 by the Marianist Forum and University Ministry, the award recognizes lay persons who exemplify the ideals of Blessed William Joseph Chaminade, founder of the Society of Mary, the religious order that governs St. Mary’s, established in 1852.

De Roche and Novoa will receive the award during the Marianist Heritage Mass, scheduled at 12:35 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 22, in Treadaway Hall’s Guadalupe Chapel on St. Mary’s campus. Their recognition for embodying the Marianist charism and advancing the educational mission of St. Mary’s occurs on Blessed Chaminade’s feast day.

Since 1984, the Marianist Student Leadership Award has been given to graduating seniors of St. Mary’s who express their faith through actions and whose leadership qualities attract others to community service. The 2004 recipients are:

  • Gus Segura, graduating senior, El Paso
  • Shane Keyser, third year law student, San Antonio

    The Carl Fitzgerald Memorial Scholarship Award is presented to juniors whose leadership and service within the community most resembles the qualities exhibited by Fitzgerald, who died in a tragic accident at his parents’ home in Florida in June 1986. His fraternity, Kappa Sigma, the Student Government Association and University Ministry established an endowment in his honor. The recipient of the 2004 Carl Fitzgerald Memorial Scholarship Award is:

    • Luis Guerra, junior, Victoria.
  • Back to top