The St. Mary’s men’s golf team will be one of six teams competing in the South Central Regional of the 2003 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championship. The South/South Central Super Regional, hosted by the University of North Alabama, May 5-7 at the Turtle Point Country Club in Florence, Ala. The D-II “super regional” format has has the South and South Central regions competing in concurrent but separate regional tournaments. The first round of the national playoffs feature 80 teams and 46 individuals competing in 10 regional tournaments held at five super regional locations.

NCAA D-II men’s golf tournament news and results can be found at

The Rattlers are ranked 18th in D-II by’s statistical analysis, which also show the Rattlers tied ninth-best in Par 4 scoring. Golfstat also lists the Rattler freshmen as the best in the country, with an average score of 74.82. The team is ranked 30th in the April 12 Precept Division II Coaches Poll. The poll is voted on by members of the Golf Coaches Association of America. The Rattlers had three first-place finishes in ten tournaments in 2002-03 and two second-place finishes, including the Heartland Conference Tournament.

Ten teams and 10 individuals will advance from the Super Regionals to the championship finals May 20-23 at Crosswater Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Ore. Eight at-large teams and two at-large individuals will be selected on May 9 for the championship finals. The finals will be hosted by California State University, Chico.

Turtle Point Country Club; Florence, Alabama; hosted by University of North Alabama

Teams selected:

South Region:
1. Rollins (Sunshine State Conference)
2. West Florida (Gulf South Conference)
3. North Alabama
4. Florida Southern
5. Central Arkansas
6. Delta State
7. Arkansas Tech
8. Lynn

1. Chris Erwin, Valdosta State
2. Blake McAfee, Henderson State
3. Justin Bates, Ouachita Baptist
4. John Quigley, Barry
5. Ryan Burr, Nova Southeastern

South Central Region:
1. Abilene Christian
2. St. Mary’s (Texas)
3. Central Oklahoma (Lone Star Conference)
4. Northeastern State
5. Drury (Heartland Conference)
6. Cameron
7. Southwestern Oklahoma State
8. East Central

1. Brent Bayer, Lincoln (Missouri)
2. Drew Hatten, Rockhurst
3. Dustin Lozano, Incarnate Word
4. Jeff Puska, Oklahoma Panhandle State
5. Jimmy Jameson, West Texas A&M

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 2 individuals)

Florida Southern leads the list of championships won with 11. The remaining teams that have captured championships are: Columbus State (6); Cal State Northridge (3); Troy State (3); Lamar (2); New Orleans (2); Rollins (2); Tampa (2); Abilene Christian, Cal State Chico, Middle Tennessee, Southern Illinois, Southwest Missouri State, Southwest Texas State, UC Davis, UC Irvine, West Florida (1 each).

Back to top