Executive Council

Authorizes Release:

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Responsible Area:

Academic Affairs

Review Cycle:

Annually or as required

Last Review:

March 2020

Related Policies and Additional References:


The Principles of Accreditation for SACSCOC (Principle 14.4), the regional accreditation association for St. Mary’s University, and the commission’s policy statement on Accrediting Decisions of Other Agencies, provide the following guidance with respect to representation of the institution and its accreditation status to all accreditors recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Principle 14.4: The institution (a) represents itself accurately to all U.S. Department or candidacy (pre-accredited) status, including the imposition of public sanctions. (Source: Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement)

The Commission requires candidate and members institutions holding accredited or candidacy (pre-accredited) status from more than one U.S. Department of Education-recognized institutional accrediting agency to keep each agency apprised of any change in its status with one or another agency. Any institution seeking or holding accreditation from more than one USDOE-recognized institutional accrediting agency must describe itself in identical terms to each agency with regard to purpose, governance, programs, degrees, diplomas, certificates, personnel, finances and constituents, and must keep each USDOE recognized accrediting body, including SACSCOC, apprised of any change in its status with one or another accrediting agency. (Source: SACSCOC Policy on Accrediting Decisions of other Agencies)

All units of St. Mary’s University that hold accreditation from a U.S. Department of Education-recognized accrediting agency must the following common University description as directed by SACSCOC principle and policy described above.

Common University Description

St. Mary’s University, founded in 1852 by the Society of Mary (Marianist) brothers and priests, is the first institution of higher learning in San Antonio and the oldest Catholic university in Texas and the Southwest. The university is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, governed by a Board of Trustees and whose Chief Executive Officer serves as the University’s President.

Committed to academic excellence and student outcomes, St. Mary’s develops graduates who are ethical leaders prepared for success in their chosen vocation. For many graduates, their St. Mary’s experience is a defining moment in their lives.

Academic achievement, sense of community and holistic learning are part of what sets a St. Mary’s education apart. With an 11-to-1 student-to-faculty ratio, students receive personalized attention from dedicated faculty. Undergraduate studies include humanities, sciences and business, with options to pursue graduate and doctoral degrees. To enhance their experience, students can participate in research, internships, study abroad and civic engagement.

St. Mary’s has a diverse student population of more than 3,500 of all faiths and backgrounds and provides a quality Catholic education experience with a strong support system. St. Mary’s 216 full-time faculty members are committed to student success in and out of the classroom. St. Mary’s University has approximately 75 undergraduate, graduate and law programs featuring 1 doctoral degree, 5 law programs and 6 graduate certificate options.

The University holds institutional accreditations from two Department of Education accreditors: The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Colleges (SACSCOC) and the American Bar Association, Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar.

Back to top