Board of Trustees

The St. Mary’s Board of Trustees meets at the University four times a year during the academic year, September, November, February and April.

Board Officers

_DSC8647 copyRev. Martin A. Solma, S.M.
Chancellor of St. Mary’s University
Provincial, Marianist Province of the United States

Edward C. Speed (B.B.A. ’70, M.A. ’86)
Retired Executive

Doris A. Slay-Barber (B.A. ’74)
Coordinator, Campus (Data) Support Services, Northside Independent School District

Raymond R. Carvajal, R.Ph. (CL ’68)
President, Carvajal’s Pharmacy Inc.

Board Members

Charles T. Barrett Jr. (B.B.A. ’62)
Chairman of the Board
President and CEO, Barrett Holdings Inc.

David W. Biegler (B.S. ’68)
Chairman and CEO, Southcross Energy

Jack Biegler (B.B.A. ’67)

Brother William J. Campbell, S.M., Ed.D.

R. Michael Casseb (J.D. ’76)
Attorney at Law, Casseb & Casseb

Rebecca Quintanilla Cedillo (B.A. ’75)
President, Strategic Initiatives Consulting

Walter D. Downing Jr.
Executive Vice President, Southwest Research Institute

Rev. James F. Fitz, S.M.
Vice President for Mission and Rector, The University of Dayton

Kelley Frost, Ph.D. (M.A. ’07, Ph.D. ’12)

Barbara Gentry (B.A. ’71)
Retired USAA Executive

Gisela Girard (B.A. ’79)
President and COO, Creative Civilization

Steven D. Jansma (B.B.A. ’89)
Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright LLP

Brother Joseph Kamis, S.M.
Assistant Provincial, Marianist Province of the United States

Sister Laura M. Leming, F.M.I., Ph.D. (B.A. ’79)
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, University of Dayton

Christopher R. Martinez (B.B.A. ’00)
President of Central Electric Enterprises & Co.

Thomas M. Mengler, J.D.
President, St. Mary’s University

Larry Mills
Executive Vice President, HOLT CAT

Brother Ronald Overman, S.M.
Business Manager, Finance and Administrative Services, The University of Dayton

Philip J. Pfeiffer, J.D.
Of Counsel/Retired Partner, San Antonio Office, Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.

Fernando Reyes
President, Reyes Automotive Group

Kenneth S. Saks (B.B.A. ’86, J.D. ’89, LL.M. ’03)
Attorney at Law, Oliva, Saks, Garcia & Curiel, LLP

Michael “Mickey” A. Schott, (B.B.A. ’68)
Shareholder/Vice President, Tsakopulos Brown Schott and Anchors

Darrell Stewart (J.D. ’92)
Attorney, Law Office of Darrell Stewart PLLC
Alumni Association Representative

James (Marty) Truss (J.D. ’96)
Shareholder, Cox Smith Matthews Inc.
Law Alumni Association Representative

Maj. Gen. Alfred A. Valenzuela, USA, Ret.

Brother Edward Violett, S.M., Ph.D. (B.B.A. ’82)
Member of the Society of Mary, Marianist Province of the United States

Brother Thomas Wendorf, S.M., Ph.D.
National Vocation Director, Marianist Province of the United States